The Legend of Bagger Vance

I am so glad that we got to watch The Legend of Bagger Vance in class for a couple days, and not just because Matt Damon is my celebrity crush (although that didn’t hurt). My dad was a golf pro for 25 years, and although neither my sister nor I have ever gotten into the game, I felt like I got a glimpse of the joy and contentment he finds in the game through watching this movie. I’d like to watch it with him when I go home.

The translation of the messages of Eastern philosophy and the Gita specifically, gave the movie and the philosophy a richness and an accessibility that was truly enjoyable. What I loved seeing was the joy that came as a result of Junah rediscovering his game and focusing on what truly mattered. I think as a Westerner my initial reaction to the term “detachment” conjures an image of an emotionless automaton, an empty shell of a human being. But what this movie revealed is that detachment from the fruits of work is actually a liberation which allows the spirit to find even greater joy in the work itself. Junah found a greater joy in playing the game than he would have ever found in winning it, and I think if more people understood and ingested that message then people might find more peace.

Leave a Reply

